Bostem is a fashion label founded by Marie Herlin and Maxime Gandon in 2018, between Brussels and Paris. The goal of the brand is to collaborate with artists whose universe and values are close to those of the founders. Bostem is organized horizontally, which gives each actor an essential but singular role. Bostem is also eco-responsible by the choice of materials, will stay in a European production.

Founders and Artistic Director,
Marie Herlin et Maxime Gandon

français

Our ambitions

Reduce the environmental impact

 

Cotton growing is one of the most polluting in the world. While it accounts for only 3% of the world's arable land, it consumes 25% of pesticides and 10% of herbicides worldwide 1. Also, to make a simple T-shirt, it takes no less than 2,700 liters of clear water. 2.

Cotton dyes are often made from health toxicants, which are generally released into rivers, pollute the soil and cause serious health problems in local populations.

Use of organic cotton

Less polluting, less dangerous for farmers and much less water-intensive, the use of organic cotton seemed obvious to Bostem. Each piece, from the thread to the fabric through the label, is designed in the most respectful way possible for the environment.

We print our designs digitally in the Netherlands and use dyes that have a low ecological impact, such as indigo, to reduce our use of synthetic materials.

Production plant in Florence, Italy.
Layla Serrano Rodriguez Pictures

GOTS Certification

We use organic cotton and GOTS certified prints for our woven garments (wetsuits, pants, jackets), but also for our knitted garments (t-shirts, sweatshirts, zip sweatshirts, joggings).

This label guarantees the absence of toxic substances in the manufacture or printing of textiles and ensures a demanding control of the entire production chain.

 
 

Respect of the workers

by producing exclusively in the European Union.

 

"Workers are often underpaid and exposed to dangerous and deadly situations, and local communities can be affected by pollution and the impact of the activity on resources." This is the sad fact that Greenpeace reports in its report Timeout for Fast Fashion 1. We also all remember the terrible collapse of the Rana Plaza in 2013, symbol of the many abuses of the fast fashion industry.

It therefore seemed essential to us to be able to guarantee dignified working conditions for all actors in the production chain. It starts with the GOTS label, which guarantees farmers a working environment. Then, by our choice to collaborate exclusively with factories located in European countries where the law correctly protects the employees (Holland, Portugal, Italy, Brussels) and where the minimum wage is higher than the living wage. Finally, several pieces are made in Belgium by the Mulieris confectionery workshop, which is part of an approach to socio-professional integration through sewing.

Bostem est un label de mode fondé par Marie Herlin et Maxime Gandon en 2018, entre Bruxelles et Paris. L’objectif de la marque est de collaborer avec des artistes dont l’univers et les valeurs sont proches de ceux des fondateurs. Bostem est organisé de manière horizontale, ce qui confère à chaque acteur et collaborateur un rôle essentiel mais singulier. Bostem s'inscrit également dans une dynamique éco-responsable par le choix des matériaux et la volonté d'assumer une production européenne.

Fondateur et Directeur Artistique,
Marie Herlin et Maxime Gandon

english

Nos ambitions

Réduire l'impact environnemental

 

La culture du coton est l'une des plus polluantes au monde. Alors qu’elle ne représente que 3% des surfaces cultivables mondiale, elle consomme à elle seule 25% des pesticides et 10% des herbicides dans le monde 1. Aussi, pour fabriquer un simple tee-shirt, il ne faut pas moins de 2.700 litres d’eau claire 2.

Les teintures du coton sont souvent réalisées à partir de produits toxiques pour la santé, qui sont généralement rejetés dans les rivières, polluent les sols et entraînent des problèmes de santé graves chez les populations locales.

Utilisation de coton biologique

Moins polluante, moins dangereuse pour les agriculteurs et bien moins gourmande en eau, l'utilisation de coton biologique est apparue comme une évidence pour Bostem. Chaque pièce, du fil au tissu en passant par l'étiquette, est conçue de la manière la plus respectueuse possible pour l'environnement.

Nous imprimons nos motifs numériquement aux Pays-Bas et utilisons des teintures qui ont un impact écologique faible, comme l'indigo, afin de réduire notre utilisation de matières synthétiques.

Usine de production de Florence, en Italie.
Photos de Layla Serrano Rodriguez

Certification GOTS

Nous utilisons du coton biologique et des impressions certifiées GOTS pour nos vêtements tissés (combinaisons, pantalons, vestes), mais également pour nos vêtements tricotés (t-shirts, sweats, sweats zip, joggings).

Ce label vous garantit l’absence de substances toxiques dans la fabrication ou l’impression du textile et assure un contrôle exigeant de l'ensemble de la chaîne de production.

 
 

Respecter les travailleurs

En produisant exclusivement en Union Européenne.

 

Dans un secteur où la production effrénée fait débat, nous nous inscrivons dans une dynamique consciente et responsable. Nous pensons la mode comme une façon d'agir de manière alternative et durable.

Il nous est essentiel de pouvoir garantir des conditions de travail dignes à tous les acteurs de la chaîne de production. Du label GOTS qui garantit aux agriculteurs un cadre de travail sain au choix de collaborer exclusivement avec des usines situées dans des pays Européens où la loi protège correctement les salariés (Hollande, Portugal, Italie) et où le salaire minimum est supérieur au salaire vital. Finalement plusieurs pièces sont réalisées en Belgique par l'atelier de confection Mulieris qui s'inscrit dans une démarche d'insertion socio-professionnelle à travers la couture.